Free Case Review





Privacy Policy

North Carolina steps up drunk driving punishments

Posted on August 1st, 2011 No Comments

Effective December 1, 2011, North Carolina will add a new level of punishment for those caught drunk driving. The law states that if someone is convicted of a DWI in North Carolina and also has three or more aggravating factors, he or she can now be sentenced as Aggravated Level One.

That means that drunk drivers could now face up to 3 years in jail and up to $10,000 in fines as well as supervised release that requires complete alcohol abstinence. The law also applies to convicted drunk drivers driving with a passenger that is under the age of 18. 30 days in jail is also a mandatory condition to ones probation.

If you or someone you know has been convicted of drunk driving, you need the Raleigh DWI defense lawyers of Jim Black. Contact them at 919-600-4609.

Tagged , | Leave a comment

Testimonials

"Jim, I just wanted to thank you again for everything you did for me. I am very happy about the outcome and would recommend you to anyone and everyone who has a DUI case. Two things that stuck out the most is your patience and honesty, you wanted the best for me and that was obvious."
-J.M.

The Law Office of Jim Black

5 West Hargett Street #310
Raleigh, NC 27601

Phone: (919) 600-4609
Fax: (919) 834-4891

Directions

About US | Practice Areas | Testimonials | DWI Overview | Know Your Rights | Blog | Articles | FAQs | Contact Us | Related Sites | Google+ | Sitemap

From our offices in Raleigh, our attorneys represent clients throughout North Carolina including the communities of Raleigh, Cary, Apex, Fuquay Varina, Wendell, Garner, Holly Springs, and Wake Forest; residents of Wake County.

© 2017 The Law Office of Jim Black. All rights reserved. Jim Black+